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What is the Kentucky Tier2 Reporting Fee Schedule 

Reporting Dates 

Tier2 reporting is required each year between January 1 and March 1.  Submissions filed after the 

March 1st deadline will be classified as late and, per KRS 39E.990, may be assessed a civil penalty 

and/or fined a minimum of two hundred and fifty dollars.  Each day upon which the violation occurs 

shall be considered a separate violation and a separate civil penalty may be imposed. 

Electronic Payment  

Beginning January 1, 2014, all Kentucky facilities are required to file tier2 reports and pay all associated 

fees electronically in accordance with the KERC’s annually published EPCRA “How to Comply Packet.”  

A processing fee will be charged automatically and included with the online payment submission. 

Fees 

Fees shall be payable in accordance with the schedule listed below except the same owner or owners 

of two or more facilities in a single county subject to paying a fee shall pay a fee not to exceed $250 for 

all those facilities in that county. 

Facility “Category” Definitions 

Category One Facility - $0 

Any facility owned or operated by local, state, or federal government. Category One facilities are 

exempted from paying any fee in accordance with KRS 39E.050.  This exemption applies solely to fees 

and does not exempt any Category One Facility from reporting requirements. 

Category Two Facility - $40 

Any facility that has ten thousand (10,000) pounds and not more than four hundred ninety-nine 

thousand, nine hundred ninety-nine (499,999) pounds of each of ten (10) or fewer hazardous 

substances at any time during the calendar year.  The combined total of all hazardous substances shall 

not exceed four hundred ninety-nine thousand, nine hundred ninety-nine (499,999) pounds. 

Category Three Facility - $250 

Any facility that has ten thousand (10,000) pounds or more of each of eleven (11) or more hazardous 

substances.  The combined total of all hazardous substances shall not exceed four hundred ninety-nine 

thousand, nine hundred ninety nine (499,999) pounds. 

Category Four Facility - $250 

Any facility that has a total inventory of over four hundred ninety-nine thousand, nine hundred ninety-

nine (499,999) pounds of hazardous substances. 

Category Five Facility - $250 

Any facility that has an Extremely Hazardous Substance (EHS) listed in 40 CFR 355 as amended 

(EPA's list of Extremely Hazardous Substances) in excess of the threshold planning quantity or five 

hundred (500) pounds whichever is less. 

http://www.lrc.ky.gov/statutes/statute.aspx?id=21793
http://www.lrc.ky.gov/statutes/statute.aspx?id=21773
http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/retrieveECFR?n=pt40.28.355

