Local Emergency Planning Committee

The Local Emergency Planning Committee is a product of federal legislation that was passed in the wake of the Bhopal disaster in India, where more than 2,000 people died becLEPC logoause of an accident involving accidental release of a hazardous chemical. Click here for a listing of LEPC Chairs.

To prevent similar occurrences in our own communities, Congress passed the Emergency Planning and Community Right to Know Act (EPCRA), also known as the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act (SARA Title III), in 1986.

EPCRA helps to increase public knowledge and access to information on chemicals at individual facilities, their uses, and releases into the environment. LEPCs are volunteer organizations that consist of emergency responders, industry, government, education, media, and community groups. Their main functions are to provide for joint emergency planning, training, and public outreach. As a result, communities, working with industry, are better able to protect public health and the environment.

Kentucky’s Local Emergency Planning districts correspond to the 118 of Kentucky’s 120 counties. Boone, Campbell, and Kenton counties joined to form the Northern Kentucky Emergency Planning Committee, creating the only exception.

State 24-hour warning point for HAZMAT Spill Notification

If you need to report a spill in accordance with SARA Title III Section 304 and KRS 39E.190, please contact the Duty Officer at the Commonwealth Emergency Operations Center at 800.255.2587 which serves as the twenty-four (24) hour warning point and contact for the Kentucky Emergency Response Commission.

Kentucky LEPC's

Program Coordinator - Connie Estill​​