Kentucky Emergency Response Commission


Kentucky has adopted the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA) into law through Kentucky Revised Statues (KRS) 39E and the Kentucky Administrative Regulations (KAR) found in 106 KAR Chapter 1. EPCRA requires that every State have a State Emergency Response Commission (SERC). In Kentucky, the SERC is known as the Kentucky Emergency Response Commission (KERC). 

The KERC was established to:
* Implement all provisions related to hazardous substances;
* Develop policies related to the response of state and local governments to releases of hazardous substances;
* Develop standards for planning for these events;
* Develop reporting requirements for hazardous substances;
* Provide information to the public concerning hazardous substances in the community;
* Develop training requirements; and 
* Develop requirements for local governments and covered facilities to exercise plans related to hazardous substance response.

For more information on the laws and regulations governing the implementation of EPCRA in Kentucky, consult KRS 39E and 106 KAR Chapter 1 at the Kentucky Legislature website at


2022-10 KERC Newsletter- Issue 20Download
2022-12 KERC Newsletter- Issue 21Download
2023-02 KERC Newsletter- Issue 22Download
800-BL, KERC Bylaws - KERC APPROVED - 2021-11-09Download
     The bi-monthly KERC meeting will be Wednesday, March 15, 2023 at the Office of State Veterinarian​  at 10:00 AM and Video Teleconference (VTC),
Training Room 109 Corporate Drive, Frankfort, KY 40622​.

Media and members of the public who wish to attend in-person or by VTC, please read the KERC Media Advisory for March 15, 2023.pdf for more information and how to request a VTC link.

Upcoming Meeting Date:

May 17, 2023

at the Energy and Environment Cabinet, 

300 Sower Boulevard, Frankfort, Kentucky 40601


Contact David Davis
KERC Program Manager
Russell Cole

The KERC shall make available to the pukkblic, upon request, all information not protected from release to the general public as a trade secret under federal law.

106 KAR Links​
Kentucky Emergency Response Commission